Mayor & Council

Rothesay Council

Municipal Elections in New Brunswick are held every four years in May. Rothesay Council is comprised of eight members, including the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Council meetings are held the second Monday of every month in the Common Room, Town Hall, and normally commence at 7:00 p.m. The public is invited to attend. Should the second Monday be a civic holiday, the Council meeting is held on Tuesday of that week.

The primary role of Council is to formulate policy and to enact By-laws which establish sound municipal government, and acting within the powers granted to it by provincial statutes. Municipal Councils make decisions as a whole council and enact legislation and By-laws that become the policy of the municipality. Once a policy has been enacted and a By-law established, it is then the responsibility of the administration, reporting to Council, to carry out that policy.

In short, Council establishes the policies of the municipality, and Town staff carries out the policies. A willingness among all members of Council to debate matters reasonably and to cooperate leads to the development of a positive, achievement-oriented council. The result is a more informed and higher quality of decision making. (excerpt from Roles, Responsibilities and Operating Procedures, published by MMTDB)

Share this page:

Facebook Twitter Email