



OPEN SESSION
Oath of Office Ceremony
Wednesday, May 30, 2012
MINUTES



PRESENT: MAYOR-ELECT WILLIAM J. BISHOP

COUNCILLOR-ELECT MATTHEW ALEXANDER COUNCILLOR-ELECT PAT GALLAGHER JETTE

COUNCILLOR-ELECT NANCY GRANT
COUNCILLOR-ELECT PETER J. LEWIS
COUNCILLOR-ELECT BLAIR MacDONALD
COUNCILLOR-ELECT WILLIAM (Bill) McGUIRE

COUNCILLOR-ELECT MIRIAM J. WELLS

TOWN MANAGER JOHN JARVIE TOWN CLERK MARY JANE BANKS

DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (DO) BRETT McLEAN

DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT SERVICES (DDS) GAY DRESCHER

DIRECTOR OF RECREATION SERVICES CHARLES JENSEN

TREASURER SUSAN JOHNSON

Town Manager Jarvie welcomed those in attendance to the Oaths of Office ceremony.

OATHS OF OFFICE

Mayor-Elect William J. Bishop was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Mayor.

Councillor-Elect Matthew Alexander was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Patricia Gallagher Jette was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and she accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Nancy Grant was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and she accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Peter J. Lewis was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Blair MacDonald was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect William (Bill) McGuire was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Miriam J. Wells was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and she accepted the office of Councillor.

ROTHESAY COUNCIL

Open Session

Meeting Minutes -2-30 May 2012

1. **Opening Prayer**

Rev. Dr. John Crawford, Grace Presbyterian Church

Mayor Bishop welcomed those in attendance and called upon Rev. Dr. John Crawford to give the Opening Prayer.

2. **Opening Remarks**

Mayor William J. Bishop

Mayor Bishop gave brief opening remarks and highlighted the following: greetings received from many provincial and local elected officials and organizations, various ongoing projects in the community including infrastructure upgrades, cultural events and new provincial legislation. He concluded by noting the agenda of the new Council will be to serve Rothesay residents, cooperate with neighbouring communities and continue to maintain one of the lowest tax rates in the province.

Election of Deputy Mayor 3.

MOVED by Counc. Lewis and seconded by Counc. Gallagher Jette that Councillor Nancy Grant be elected Deputy Mayor of Rothesay, for the four year term of office.

CARRIED.

4. **Council appointments**

30 May 2012 Memorandum from Mayor Bishop

MOVED by Counc. Gallagher Jette and seconded by Counc. McGuire Council ratify the Council appointments to Committees, as presented by Mayor Bishop and attached hereto and forming a part of these minutes.

CARRIED.

5. **Date of next Council meeting**

Mayor Bishop noted the next meeting of Council will be held on Monday, June 11, 2012 at 8:00 p.m. The evening will start at 6:00 p.m. with a review session and a Public Hearing at 8:00 p.m.

6. **Closing Prayer**

Rev. Michael LeBlanc, Our Lady of Perpetual Help

Mayor Bishop called upon Rev. Michael LeBlanc to give the Closing Prayer.

7. Adjournment

ED.

MOVED by Cadjourned.	Counc.	Gallagher	Jette	and	seconded	by	Counc.	Alexander	the	meeting
3										CARRI
The meeting adj	journed	l at 7:25 p.1	n.							
MAYOR					CL	ER]	K			