

ROTHESAY COUNCIL OPEN SESSION Oath of Office Ceremony Wednesday, May 25, 2016

MINUTES



PRESENT:

MAYOR-ELECT DR. NANCY GRANT COUNCILLOR-ELECT MATTHEW ALEXANDER COUNCILLOR-ELECT GRANT BRENAN COUNCILLOR-ELECT PETER J. LEWIS COUNCILLOR-ELECT TIFFANY MACKAY FRENCH COUNCILLOR-ELECT WILLIAM (Bill) McGUIRE COUNCILLOR-ELECT DON SHEA COUNCILLOR-ELECT MIRIAM J. WELLS

TOWN MANAGER JOHN JARVIE TOWN CLERK MARY JANE BANKS DIRECTOR OF REC/PARKS (DRP) CHARLES JENSEN DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (DO) BRETT McLEAN DIRECTOR OF PLANNING/DEVELOPMENT (DPDS) BRIAN WHITE TREASURER DOUG MacDONALD

Town Manager Jarvie welcomed those in attendance to the Oaths of Office ceremony, provided a brief summary of the evening's agenda and congratulated the newly elected members of Rothesay Council.

Town Manager Jarvie called upon Rev. Canon Albert Snelgrove, St. Paul's Church, to give the Opening Prayer.

Town Clerk Banks was called upon to administer the Oaths of Office.

OATHS OF OFFICE

Mayor-Elect Nancy Grant was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and she accepted the office of Mayor.

Councillor-Elect Matthew Alexander was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Grant Brenan was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Peter Lewis was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Tiffany Mackay French was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and she accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect William (Bill) McGuire was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Don Shea was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and he accepted the office of Councillor.

Councillor-Elect Miriam J. Wells was administered the Oath of Office by Town Clerk Mary Jane Banks in accordance with Section 33(1), <u>Municipalities Act</u>, R.S.N.B. (1973) Chapter M-22 and amendments thereto and she accepted the office of Councillor.

3. Opening Remarks

Mayor Nancy Grant

Mayor Grant gave congratulatory remarks to the newly elected Rothesay Council and welcomed those in attendance at the ceremony. She commented that residents are always welcome at Town Hall and noted the various community events being held through the summer – Canada Day on the Common and the Concert in the Common Series, particularly the St. Mary's Band performance at Renforth Wharf on Wednesday, August 10th.

3. Election of Deputy Mayor

MOVED by Counc. McGuire and seconded by Counc. Wells that Councillor Matthew Alexander be elected Deputy Mayor of Rothesay, for the four year term of office.

CARRIED.

4. Council appointments

20 May 2016 Memorandum from Mayor Nancy Grant

MOVED by Counc. Lewis and seconded by Counc. Wells Council ratify the Council appointments to Committees, as presented by Mayor Grant and attached hereto and forming a part of these minutes.

CARRIED.

5. Date of next Council meeting

Mayor Grant noted the next Open Session meeting of Council will be held on Monday, June 13, 2016 at 7:00 p.m.

6. Closing Prayer

Rev. Father J. Stanislas Paulin, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Mayor Grant called upon Rev. Father J. Stanislas Paulin to give the Closing Prayer.

ROTHESAY COUNCIL

Open Session Meeting Minutes

-3-

25 May 2016

7. Adjournment

MOVED by Counc. McGuire and seconded by Counc. Wells the meeting be adjourned.

CARRIED.

The meeting adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

hance thant MAYOR

3 IA uts CLER

Agenda Item 5.0



ROTHESA **MEMORANDUM**



ТО	:	Rothesay Council
FROM	:	Mayor Nancy Grant
DATE	:	20 May 2016
RE	:	Council Committee Appointments

The following Committee appointments are presented for ratification by Rothesay Council:

Greater Saint John Regional Facilities Commission Councillor Grant Brenan Term until May 2018

Kennebecasis Regional Joint Board of Police Commissioners

Councillor Matt Alexander	Term until May 2018
Councillor Tiffany Mackay French	Term until May 2018

Board of Fire Commissioners, Kennebecasis Valley Fire Department Inc. Councillor Grant Brenan

Term until May 2018

Kennebecasis Public Library

Councillor Don Shea

Term until May 2018

Term until May 2018

Term until May 2018

Rothesay Nominating Committee

Councillor Miriam Wells	Term until May 2018
Councillor Bill McGuire	Term until May 2018

Rothesay Emergency Measures Committee (Internal) Term until May 2018

Mayor Nancy Grant Councillor Bill McGuire Councillor Peter Lewis

Emergency Measures Action Committee (Joint)

Mayor Nancy Grant	Term until May 2018
Councillor Bill McGuire	Term until May 2018
Councillor Peter Lewis	Term until May 2018

Rothesay Planning Advisory Committee

Councillor Peter Lewis Councillor Don Shea

Term until May 2018 Term until May 2018

Rothesay Heritage Preservation Review Board

Councillor Tiffany Mackay French Term until May 2018

ROTHESAY

TO: Rothesay Council FROM: Mayor Nancy Grant RE: Council Committee Appointments

-2-

Rothesay Personnel Committee

Councillor Miriam Wells	Term until May 2018
Councillor Tiffany Mackay French	Term until May 2018
Councillor Bill McGuire	Term until May 2018

Rothesay Public Works and Infrastructure Committee

Councillor Matt AlexanderTerm until May 2018Councillor Miriam WellsTerm until May 2018

Rothesay Utilities Committee Councillor Matt Alexander

Term until May 2018

Rothesay Finance Committee

Mayor Nancy Grant Councillor Grant Brenan Councillor Don Shea Term until May 2018 Term until May 2018 Term until May 2018

Rothesay Parks and Recreation Committee

Councillor Miriam Wells Councillor Bill McGuire Term until May 2018 Term until May 2018

Pro-Kids Board of Directors Councillor Peter Lewis

Term until May 2018

Rothesay Living Museum Councillor Peter Lewis

Term until May 2018

QUE IUNCTA